HYPE Honored at Fourth Annual “Tech for All” Policy Conference, Day of Action co-hosted by Rep. Dar’shun Kendrick and Mayor Andre Dickens

ATLANTA – State Representative Dar’shun Kendrick (D-Lithonia) will host the fourth annual “Tech for All” Policy Conference and Day of Action on Thursday, February 16, 2023, from 8 a.m. – 3 p.m. The event schedule is as follows:

·       Networking event and panel discussion – Thursday, February 16, 2023, at 8 a.m. in room 307 of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building in Atlanta;

·       Legislative Session Day 20 – Thursday, February 16, 2023, at 10 a.m. in the House Chamber Gallery;

·       Award ceremony and lunch – Thursday, February 16, 2023, from 12 – 3 p.m. at the atrium in Atlanta City Hall.

This year’s event will focus on supporting diversity in technology that leads to social impact by raising public awareness and influencing policy for issues affecting the tech ecosystem. The conference will feature a networking event, panel discussions and a lunch with an awards presentation. Participants will also have an opportunity to observe the legislative session from the House Gallery. Rep. Kendrick and representatives from several non-profits will also discuss House Bill 14, legislation which would create a tax credit for employers that hire certified workforce-ready graduates, and House Bill 15, legislation which would create the Broadband Equity Task Force. The following individuals and organizations helped create this legislation: Sterling Johnson, policy lead, Partnership for Southern Equity; Nancy Flake Johnson, Urban League of Greater Atlanta; Richard Hicks, InspiEDU; and Shann Johnson, Generation USA.

This year’s Tech for All awards will be presented to the following individuals/categories: Kristina Newton, K-12 Early Support; Roshawnna Novellus, president/CEO of EnrichHER, Capital Formation & Growth Award; Valarie Mackey, Adult Education Award; Charles Robinson, Investments Award; Dane Bamburry, Cox Communications, Corporate Innovation Award; S. Gordon Moore Jr., Higher Education Award; Maxine Cain, Overall Ecosystem Building Award; and Hamid Arjmand, Workforce Development Award. 

Rep. Kendrick is co-hosting this year’s conference with Atlanta Mayor Andre Dickens and Errika Moore; State Senator Tonya Anderson (D-Lithonia) is an honorary co-chair.

This event is free and open to the public, and advanced registration is required to attend. For more information and to register for this conference, please click here.